0 Items
Select Page

        • DIE LANGE BANK Installation auf der Hauptwache
          10. October 202327. November 2024

          There are no upcoming Veranstaltungen.

DAM Architectural Book Award 2021 – the prize winners have been determined!

by | Wednesday, 13. October 2021

DAM Architectural Book Award 2021 – the prize winners have been determined!

The best architectural books

The Frankfurt Book Fair and the Deutsches Architekturmuseum (DAM) are presenting the jointly initiated International DAM Architectural Book Award for the thirteenth time. The DAM would like to thank the Society of Friends of the DAM for its generous support of the prize.

The ten prize winners this year are:

  • Konstruktion / Manual / Birkhäuser Verlag
  • Apartment Blossom/ Donghua University Press
  • Antarctic Resolution/ Lars Müller Publishers
  • Raamwerk In Practice: Lichtervelde Youth Centre / MER B&L
  • Avant-Garde as a Method / Vkhutemas and the Pedagogy of Space, 1920 – 1930/ Park Books
  • Elemente einer baukulturellen Allgemeinbildung / Park Books
  • Milk.Honey / Animal Stories in Imagined Landscapes/ Park Books
  • Napoli Super Modern/ Park Books
  • HdK – Haus der Kultur Gera / sphere publishers
  • Anime Architecture: Imagined Worlds and Endless Megacities/ Thames & Hudson

The prize, unique in its kind and now highly respected, honours the best architecture books of a year. 94 architecture and art book publishers worldwide have responded to the joint call. A specialist jury of external experts and representatives of the DAM selected the ten best architecture books of the year from 235 entries according to criteria such as design, content concept, quality of materials and workmanship, degree of innovation and topicality.

The jury meeting took place on 1 September 2021 at the Deutsches Architekturmuseum (DAM). The winners will be announced at the hybrid award ceremony on 20 October 2021.  The award ceremony will take place from 7 – 9 p.m. and will be livestreamed at: https://www.youtube.com/user/DAMfrankfurtmain.

The external jury of experts this year included:
Stefan Weil (graphic designer), Kerstin Schultz (architect and member of the Friends of DAM e.V.), Karin Hartmann (architect and journalist) and Moritz Bernoully (architect and photographer).

The internal jurors were:
Andrea Jürges (Deputy Director of DAM), Oliver Elser (Curator DAM), Rebekka Kremershof (Head of Architecture Education DAM).

The wide range of topics and the high standard of the entries presented the jury with an enormous challenge. For this reason the jurors once again decided not only to pick ten prize winners, but also to select a further ten entries for the Shortlist of the DAM Architectural Book Award 2021.

  • Growing up Modern: Childhoods in Iconic Homes / Birkhäuser Verlag
  • Architectural Guide Sub-Saharan Africa / DOM publishers
  • Against and for Method Revisiting Architectural Design as Research/ gta Verlag
  • Repairing Earthquake Project 2011 – 2021 / Jap Sam Books
  • Hasenheide 13 / Jovis Verlag
  • Sigurd Lewerentz, Pure Aesthetics / St Marks Church/ Park Books
  • Survey / Architecture Iconographies/ Park Books
  • Berlin Tegel Airport/ Park Books
  • Neri&Hu Design and Research Office: Thresholds: Space, Time and Practice / Thames & Hudson
  • Faţadă / Fassade/ Verlang Kettler

Exhibition of the award-winning books
October 20 – 24, 2021
Frankfurt Book Fair, Stand 3.1 H121