0 Items
Select Page

Competition Invitation: DAM Architectural Book Award 2021

by | Thursday, 25. March 2021

DAM Architectural Book Award 2021

Deutsches Architekturmuseum (DAM) and the Frankfurt Book Fair are this year again asking for entries to be submitted for the DAM Architectural Book Award 2021. All art and architectural book publishers worldwide are invited to do so. A varying jury comprising DAM internal jurors as well as external experts will judge the submissions according to design, concept, quality in terms of material and finishing, level of innovation and topicality.

Even in this era of growing competition through new media and communication methods books on architecture still remain the basic architectural medium. Identifying the best architectural books published in the current year by way of this competition and presenting them to architecture enthusiasts is thus a fundamental task of the DAM Architectural Book Award. As an honorary award it does not involve any award money. The prize winners are being presented at the Frankfurt Book Fair.

The DAM Architectural Book Award was initiated in 2009 and ever since it has been met with increasing response. So this year’s DAM Architectural Book Award will consciously open up gain to an international range of participants.

All architecture books that have an ISBN and were published between June 2020 and the submissions deadline of August 27, 2021 are eligible as entries for the DAM Architectural Book Award. In the case of book series and multi-volume works a single volume or the entire work may be submitted.

Publications compiled primarily for marketing purposes, may not take part. Furthermore, magazines, calendars, journals and online publications will not be considered; e-books are not allowed. Unpublished books and those with very small print runs are not eligible either. Publications having participated in 2020 cannot be submitted again.

The architectural books submitted could be judged according to the following or similar
categories / topics:

  • architectural monographs
  • architectural theory
  • construction monographs
  • illustrated book
  • documentation
  • (contemporary) history
  • children’s book
  • landscape architecture
  • textbook
  • materials science
  • urban planning
  • special subject

When in session the jury reserves the right to make a fresh decision on categorization of the entries. The sender agrees to the transfer of the submitted books to the library of the DAM.

Deutsches Architekturmuseum cannot assume any customs charges. For anyone dispatching materials from outside the EU we therefore recommend you use a courier service or provide suitable documentation for the goods sent.

Principally the jury will determine prize winners and award recognitions. The jury consists of external experts (publishers, photographers, book designers, architecture critics) and DAM staff members.

The jury is free to make its own decision which cannot be challenged.

In case of being awarded, about six (to ten) additional copies of the award-winning books must be made available free of charge to DAM for the presentations at international German collective stands of the Frankfurt Book Fair.

For the presentation of the awarded architecture book the cover and significant (double) pages from the publication (book contents) must be made available to Deutsches Architekturmuseum as a file in PDF or JPG format.

The participants declare themselves to be in agreement with the presentation of the submitted architecture books at the Frankfurt Book Fair.

In case being awarded the sender shall declare themselves to be in agreement with:

  • the award-winning book being presented at the DAM stand at the Frankfurt Book Fair and at additional book fairs worldwide through the Frankfurt Book Fair
  • the award winners being presented in DAM
  • the cover and book contents, as well as illustrations from the book being published on the DAM website.

Furthermore the sender shall declare that he is the owner of all the relevant requisite rights. In the event of claims for fees being made by third parties the sender shall exempt Deutsches Architekturmuseum from the cost of any legal action and / or the cost of subsequent demands for fees made by third parties.

Deutsches Architekturmuseum in collaboration with Frankfurt Book Fair is the organizer of the DAM Architecural Book Award.

With the kind support of the Friends of the DAM e.V.


Entries to be submitted
until August 27, 2021

Please note that entries submitted later than August 27, 2021 cannot be considered.

Registration form
PDF Registration DAM BOOK AWARD 2021

Entries to:
Deutsches Architekturmuseum DAM
DAM Architectural Book Award 2021
Hedderichstraße 108-110
D-60596 Frankfurt am Main – Germany

Tuesday, September 1, 2021 (not public)

Public award-giving ceremony
Wednesday,  October 20, 2021

Exhibition of all submitted books at the Frankfurt Book Fair:
October 20 – 24, 2021

In case of questions, please contact:
Rebekka Kremershof
Tel. +49 160 95227431
E-Mail: DAM.bookaward@stadt-frankfurt.de

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.